You have Javascript disabled. Certain parts of our site won’t work well without it. For assistance with your inquiries, see more information below about how to contact us.
self-drive-irish-odyssey - CIE-Tours

Self Drive – Irish Odyssey

  • 2019 Independent Irish Odyssey – 12 Days/11 Nights
Starts Dublin
Ends Trim
  • Tour Highlights
  • Itinerary
  • Dates and Prices
  • Reviews

Tour Highlights

Suggested Authentic Local Experiences:

  • Discover local lore on a walking tour of Cong (“The Quiet Man” tour) with a local guide.
  • Sample local craft beer in a unique setting at a traditional Irish pub.

Hotels:

  • Herbert Park Hotel | Dublin (2 nights)
  • The River Lee Hotel | Cork (1 night)
  • Killarney Plaza Hotel | Killarney (2 nights)
  • The Galmont Hotel | Galway (2 nights)
  • City Hotel | Derry (2 nights)
  • Cabra Castle Hotel | Kingscourt (1 night)
  • Knightsbrook Hotel & Golf Resort | Trim, Co. Meath (1 night)

Tour Includes:

  • Hertz self-drive car with unlimited mileage based on a minimum of 2 people travelling together. Other cars and minibuses available – see our website or call us for rates
  • Standard or automatic transmission
  • Collision Damage Waiver (CDW), theft protection (TP), government tax (VAT) and Location Service Charge (LSC)
  • Arrival group airport transfer when you book our flights – $15 one-way per person fee applies to land only bookings
  • Taxi transfer from your Dublin Hotel to Hertz downtown office
  • Prebooked stays for 11 nights in hotels listed above
  • Full breakfast daily except on day 1
  • Dublin open-top bus tour and a visit to one of these prime attractions, Guinness Storehouse, General Post Office Museum, Epic Ireland or Teeling Whiskey Distillery
  • Ireland Step by Step – 128-page guide with maps and suggested itineraries (one per room)
  • Ireland at a Glimpse – discount book with 50% vouchers for almost 100 attractions
  • Get Ready! Get Set! Go! – information book with basic travel facts
  • Deluxe carry-on backpack, ticket wallet, luggage tags & strap
  • All local taxes and hotel service charges
  • Free Wi-Fi in most hotel lobbies

Hotels

Expand All Hide All

Cabra Castle Hotel, Kingscourt

Cabra Castle Hotel, Kingscourt Description:

This castle’s history dates to 1760 and gives a mature, cultured air to the magnificent hallways and…

The River Lee Hotel, Cork

The River Lee Hotel, Cork Description:

This hotel offers modern design combined with warmth, charm and great facilities. The spacious lobby…

Herbert Park Hotel, Dublin

Herbert Park Hotel, Dublin Description:

This modern, bright property offers guests style and comfort with modern amenities. The bright, cont…

The Galmont Hotel & Spa, Galway

The Galmont Hotel & Spa, Galway Description:

Established in 2001 in Galway City Centre, The Galmont is one of Ireland’s finest 4 star hotels. Just a three-minute walk from the central Eyre Square and overlooking Galway Bay, The Galmont (formerly the Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway) stands in the heart of the city. With a range of guest rooms to choose from, the hotel is home to the award-winning spirit one spa and the best events facilities in the west of Ireland. Whether you’re in Galway for a weekend getaway, a family trip or on business, this hotel’s central location, helpful team and excellent facilities will make your stay one to remember.

Killarney Plaza Hotel, Killarney

Killarney Plaza Hotel, Killarney Description:

Overlooking Killarney National Park, this classic hotel is within 5 minute walk from the town center…

Knightsbrook Hotel & Golf Resort, Trim

Knightsbrook Hotel & Golf Resort, Trim Description:

Knightsbrook Hotel is a lovely 4 star property situated in the historic town of Trim and in the shadows of the ruins of Trim Castle and St Mary’s Abbey. Trim Castle was used in recent years for the filming of Braveheart with Mel Gibson. The hotel features stately common areas and rooms decorated in muted tones to provide a tranquil retreat.

City Hotel, Derry

City Hotel, Derry Description:

This modern hotel features an open-plan lobby opening out to Thompson’s Restaurant and Coppins Bar. …

Itinerary

2019 Irish Odyssey- Self Drive SELF DRIVE – EMERALD EXPEDITION 12 DAYS / 11 NIGHTSs

Touring Ideas
Day 1: Vacation Starts in Dublin
Arrive at Dublin Airport and continue into the
city. Your day is free to explore independently.
Use your prepaid vouchers for an open-top bus tour of central Dublin or visit one of Dublin’s prime attractions such as Guinness Storehouse, Teeling Distillery, EPIC The Irish Emigration Museum or General Post Office Museum.

Day 2: Explore Dublin
Today you may choose to see more of Dublin,
either independently or using your open-top
bus tour. Suggested visits include Dublinia, Trinity
College, Dublin Castle, St. Patrick’s Cathedral
and Kilmainham Gaol.

(B)

Day 3: Dublin to Cork
Pick up your car at Hertz downtown office
and drive south to Cork, a distance of 160 miles.
Suggested visits to Irish National Stud & Gardens,
Rock of Cashel and Blarney Castle.

(B)

Day 4: Cork to Killarney
The direct drive is only 50 miles but you might
like to take a scenic route along the shoreline of
West Cork. Suggested visits today are Jameson Experience,
Fota House, Muckross House or Killarney House.

(B)

Day 5: Kerry Touring
You may like to take a full day tour to travel the popular 100-mile Ring of Kerry – it is better to drive in a counter-clockwise direction. Suggested visit to the Skellig Experience. The Dingle Peninsula is also a lovely day tour. Suggested visit to Dingle Brewing Company. , Blasket Centre or a Jingle Bay Cruise. Enjoy another evening in Killarney to sample the local pubs and eateries.

(B)

Day 6: Killarney to Galway
Today’s journey is about 120 miles – cross the
River Shannon by ferry and travel along the
coast of Clare, stopping at the Cliffs of Moher.
Drive through the Burren and around Galway
Bay. Suggested visits to Burren Centre and
Knappogue Castle.

(B)

Day 7: Connemara Region
Today you may wish to tour Connemara, a region of unspoiled open
scenery. Suggested visits today are Kylemore Abbey
and Gardens, “Connemara Lady”
catamaran cruise on Killary Harbour, or take “The Quiet Man” walking tour of Cong.

(B)

Day 8: Galway to Derry
The distance today is 170 miles and takes you
through Counties Mayo, Sligo and Donegal.
Suggested visits to the Museum of Country Life,
Belleek Pottery and Florence Court.

(B)

Day 9: Donegal or Giant’s Causeway
Explore the scenery of Donegal or drive to the
Giant’s Causeway, huge basalt columns. In
Derry walk along the medieval city walls, which
are intact and provide great views all around.

(B)

Day 10: Derry to Cabra Castle Hotel
This is a journey of 100 miles by the direct route.
You may stop at the Ulster American Folk Park
outside Omagh or travel via Belfast to Kingscourt
to your castle hotel, built in 1760.

(B)

Day 11: Meath Stay
Relax in the lovely setting of your hotel in Knightsbrook, County Meath or use the 18-hole golf course. Suggested visits to the Boyne Valley Visitor Centre, Trim Castle or the Hill of Tara..
(B)

Day 12: Vacation Ends Dublin Airport
Dublin Airport is less than an hour’s drive away so drop your rental car in good time for your flight..
(B)

B: Breakfast; L: Lunch; D: Dinner

.

 

Dates and Prices

No Credit Card Fees credit-card

Select a date to request a quote?

All
Mar 2019
Apr 2019
May 2019
Jun 2019
Jul 2019
Aug 2019
Sep 2019
Oct 2019
Nov 2019

Prices are not available at this Moment

Start End Price
Friday Mar 22, 2019 from Dublin Tuesday Apr 2, 2019 to Trim 12 Days $1597 Book Now
Friday Apr 5, 2019 from Dublin Tuesday Apr 16, 2019 to Trim 12 Days $1746 Book Now
Friday Apr 12, 2019 from Dublin Tuesday Apr 23, 2019 to Trim 12 Days $1746 Guaranteed Sold Out
Friday Apr 19, 2019 from Dublin Tuesday Apr 30, 2019 to Trim 12 Days $1746 Sold Out
Friday May 3, 2019 from Dublin Tuesday May 14, 2019 to Trim 12 Days $2591 Book Now
Friday May 10, 2019 from Dublin Tuesday May 21, 2019 to Trim 12 Days $2591 Sold Out
Friday May 17, 2019 from Dublin Tuesday May 28, 2019 to Trim 12 Days $2591 Sold Out
Friday May 24, 2019 from Dublin Tuesday Jun 4, 2019 to Trim 12 Days $2591 Guaranteed Sold Out
Friday May 31, 2019 from Dublin Tuesday Jun 11, 2019 to Trim 12 Days $2591 Sold Out
Friday Jun 7, 2019 from Dublin Tuesday Jun 18, 2019 to Trim 12 Days $2295 Sold Out
Friday Jun 14, 2019 from Dublin Tuesday Jun 25, 2019 to Trim 12 Days $2295 Guaranteed Book Now
Friday Jun 21, 2019 from Dublin Tuesday Jul 2, 2019 to Trim 12 Days $2295 Book Now
Friday Jul 5, 2019 from Dublin Tuesday Jul 16, 2019 to Trim 12 Days $2437 Sold Out
Friday Jul 12, 2019 from Dublin Tuesday Jul 23, 2019 to Trim 12 Days $2437 Sold Out
Friday Jul 19, 2019 from Dublin Tuesday Jul 30, 2019 to Trim 12 Days $2437 Sold Out
Friday Aug 2, 2019 from Dublin Tuesday Aug 13, 2019 to Trim 12 Days $2407 Book Now
Friday Aug 16, 2019 from Dublin Tuesday Aug 27, 2019 to Trim 12 Days $2407 Book Now
Friday Aug 23, 2019 from Dublin Tuesday Sep 3, 2019 to Trim 12 Days $2407 Guaranteed Book Now
Friday Aug 30, 2019 from Dublin Tuesday Sep 10, 2019 to Trim 12 Days $2407 Sold Out
Friday Sep 20, 2019 from Dublin Tuesday Oct 1, 2019 to Trim 12 Days $2629 Sold Out
Friday Sep 27, 2019 from Dublin Tuesday Oct 8, 2019 to Trim 12 Days $2629 Guaranteed Book Now
Friday Oct 4, 2019 from Dublin Tuesday Oct 15, 2019 to Trim 12 Days $1856 Guaranteed Book Now
Friday Oct 18, 2019 from Dublin Tuesday Oct 29, 2019 to Trim 12 Days $1856 Sold Out
Friday Oct 25, 2019 from Dublin Tuesday Nov 5, 2019 to Trim 12 Days $1856 Book Now
Friday Nov 1, 2019 from Dublin Tuesday Nov 12, 2019 to Trim 12 Days $1517 Sold Out
Friday Nov 8, 2019 from Dublin Tuesday Nov 19, 2019 to Trim 12 Days $1517 Book Now
Friday Nov 15, 2019 from Dublin Tuesday Nov 26, 2019 to Trim 12 Days $1517 Book Now

0 Reviews


There are no current reviews for this tour. Check out customer ratings for all our CIE Tours on our reviews page!

Subscribe for deals and private sales.

See our Privacy Policy